Auto Insurance in Oklahoma City

You and Your Auto Insurance: Driving in Oklahoma City

During the Land Run that occurred on April 22, 1889, more than 10,000 people settled into the area that is now downtown Oklahoma City. This event itself established the location of the city. With a population of approximately 558,000 people, it’s a sprawling urban area, the state capital and covers a full 621 square miles.  It has one of the largest land areas of any city in the nation.

A welcome surprise to Oklahoma City visitors is that serious traffic congestion is noticeably missing.  Automobiles remain the primary choice of transportation, but bus service also runs to connect the entire city.  A trolley serving the downtown area provides a convenient way to get around.

Oklahoma covers an expansive amount of land though trip time is often not more than 15 minutes from any part to another. Your auto insurance policy should address the expanse of all of your coverage needs, and quickly provide the right coverage in the event of an accident. Oklahoma’s auto insurance laws are very straightforward.

Let’s look at Oklahoma’s straightforward approach to auto insurance.

Proof of current auto insurance coverage is required for all state motorists driving Oklahoma’s roads. Your vehicle registration and auto insurance ID are required to be kept in your vehicle.

  • You can’t register your vehicle without the state required minimums of auto insurance coverage.
  • This applies to the first time you register a vehicle, and also every time you renew your registration.

Oklahoma City requires that every driver carry at least the established minimum levels as  indicated below:

  • Bodily Injury and Death coverages of at least $25,000 for one person per each single accident, plus $50,000 to provide coverage for all other injuries.
  • Property Damage coverage in the amount of $25,000.

Severe fines and penalties are in place if you are unable to provide evidence of your auto insurance coverage. Penalties include:

  • Your driver’s license and vehicle registration can both be suspended.
  • Your vehicle can be impound  with associated daily impound charges.
  • You can receive a fine as high as $250 and/or up to a month long jail sentence.

Oklahoma City auto insurance laws require that one driver involved in an accident has to be deemed to be at fault. This at-fault driver is required to pay for the entirety of  damages to all vehicles in the accident. In addition, the at-fault driver will be responsible for all medical expenses that result from a car crash.

Especially due to the last requirement listed, a great number of drivers in Oklahoma City select an auto insurance policy that have a great deal higher level of coverage than one that simply meets the minimum coverage requirements.  Additional coverages over the minimums then provide the at-fault protection necessary to take care of the higher costs from an accident if one is found to be at fault.

Consider protecting yourself fully by increasing at least your liability limits to cover yourself in the event you are deemed at fault in an accident. Oklahoma’s minimum auto insurance coverages, while legal to drive with, may not provide enough coverage to protect yourself in the case of a serious auto accident.

Oklahoma City takes auto insurance violations very seriously. Take your coverages in Oklahoma just as seriously to make sure you are adequately protected.

Enjoy Driving in Oklahoma City!

 

Resource

Insurance Information Institute www.iii.org