Driving without auto insurance in the Show-Me State is not an option. Missouri has some of the strongest penalties in the nation for failing to maintain minimum liability insurance.
Missouri law requires that all motor vehicle owners maintain the minimum liability insurance coverage plus uninsured motorist coverage. Drivers are given three options for adhering to the mandatory requirements:
You must have one of the following in effect on each motor vehicle you own or operate:
- A current auto insurance policy meeting the minimum liability insurance requirements
- Evidence of financial responsibility, which must be on file Missouri Dept of Revenue
- A self-insurance certificate
Your auto insurance card must be in the registered vehicle at all times.
Minimum uninsured motorist and liability coverage requirements
Missouri state law makes it mandatory that all drivers have $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage on their Missouri auto insurance policy. This is in addition to the minimum liability insurance required by the state of Missouri of:
- $25,000 – bodily injury, per person
- $50,000 – bodily injury, per accident
- $10,000 – property damage
Proof of insurance
Missourians must provide proof of current Missouri auto insurance meeting the mandatory minimum requirements of the state when registering their vehicle or renewing their vehicle license plates. All drivers must also keep proof of insurance in their vehicle at all times. If a law enforcement officer asks for proof of current insurance coverage and you are unable to provide evidence of such, you may be issued a ticket.
Failure to show evidence of current coverage may result in:
- If convicted, New Jersey’s Driver License Bureau (DLB) will enter the violation on your record and you will be assessed points.
- Under New Jersey’s point system, your license will be revoked if you are assessed more than 7 points within an eighteen month period.
Who is covered
Generally, your Missouri auto insurance policy covers you and all eligible drivers in your household. Missouri law does allow for excluding members.
If a household member has been excluded, it is important to remember that no coverage exists at any time for an excluded person(s).
Who is liable
Missouri is a tort state, which means that the at-fault driver in a car crash can be sued by anyone injured for their medical expenses, including rehabilitation, if necessary. The at-fault driver is also responsible to pay any vehicle damages.
If you are in an accident in a tort state and found not to be at fault, the passengers in your vehicle, as well the passengers in the at-fault driver’s automobile may sue the at-fault driver.
It is mandatory in the Show-Me that drivers have $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage on their Missouri auto insurance policies. While many states offer uninsured and underinsured auto insurance coverage as an optional auto insurance package by bundling the two insurance products, in Missouri, the two are separate insurance options. Discuss with your Missouri auto insurance agent your needs and what kind of coverage will give you the protection you need.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) auto insurance coverage pays for costs involved in a car crash, if you are the victim of a crash in which an at-fault driver flees the scene or is uninsured.
Average annual cost of insurance
According to Insure.com, the 2011 average annual premium for Missouri auto insurance is $1,563.The national average is $1,561.
Insurance Information Institute www.iii.org
Missouri Department of Insurance