Mainers, otherwise known as Down Easters, enjoy some of the country’s lowest auto insurance costs, paying the third lowest average annual auto insurance premiums in the nation. Only South Carolina and Vermont pay lower car insurance on average than motorists in the Pine Tree State.
Maine’s mandatory auto insurance requirements
According to Maine state auto insurance law, no motor vehicle can be registered unless the owner is able to provide evidence of meeting the required state minimum auto insurance coverages.
All Maine motorists are required by state law to purchase three types of auto insurance coverages: liability, uninsured motorist and medical payments. It is illegal for Maine residents to drive in Maine without all three coverages.
These are the mandatory auto insurance minimums you must carry to drive on Maine roads:
- $50,000 – bodily injury (BI), one person
- $100,000 – bodily injury (BI), multiple victims, per accident
- $25,000 – property damage (PD)
Maine auto insurance law also accepts the purchase of $125,000 as a combined single limit of BI and PD auto insurance coverage.
Uninsured Motorist (UM)
- $50,000 – per individual
- $100,000 – per accident
UM auto insurance coverage protects you, members of your household and any passengers you are carrying in your vehicle, by covering the costs of any injuries sustained as the result of an accident with an uninsured at-fault driver.
It is important to note that UM coverage does not take care of any damages to your automobile. Also, it does not take care of any injuries sustained by the at-fault motorist.
- $2,000 – coverage for medical payments
While the above limits meet the state of Maine’s auto insurance required liability minimums, in some cases, carrying only the minimum coverages may put you at risk.
It is wise to discuss with your Maine auto insurance agent the proper coverage you should carry to ensure that you and all members of your household are fully protected in the event of a serious automobile accident.
Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage
According to Maine auto insurance law, it is mandatory that any policy purchased in Maine must include uninsured (UM) auto insurance coverage in addition to liability auto insurance. UM motorist is NOT optional.
Maine’s Bureau of Motor Vehicles estimates that approximately seven percent of all Maine motorists are driving without insurance. UM auto insurance coverage protects you in the event of an accident if you are not at fault by paying for any injuries sustained by an uninsured or underinsured motorist. This also applies if you are in a car crash and the at-fault driver flees the scene of the accident.
You are required to carry UM coverage equal to your liability coverage. Mainers do have the right to purchase lower UM coverage, but may also do so under the following conditions:
- That you sign a rejection form issued by your Maine auto insurer prior to the date stated on your Maine policy.
- That in the event you choose a lesser minimum, Maine state law limits minimums to no lower than the mandatory state required minimums of $50,000 and $100,000 for one per person and per accident, respectively.
As UM coverages typically do not pay for any vehicle damage, ask your auto insurance company or agent how to cover yourself and any members of your household for property damages. Your agent may be able to add property damage coverage to your UM policy coverage.
For drivers 55 and older
Every auto insurance agent or company in the state of Maine is required by law to offer a liability, medical payment and collision auto insurance coverage to Maine motorists 55 years and older upon completion of an approved accident prevention course.
- In order to be eligible for this discount, you must have a clean driving record. You must attend an approved course must every 36 months in order to continue receiving the discount.
- Unfortunately, if you or any driver in your household has been in an accident and found to be at-fault, or has had a traffic violation or suspended license at any time in the prior 36 months, this discount will not be available.
- Call the number listed at the end of this article to find locations and dates for approved program courses.
Average annual cost of auto insurance
In 2011, residents in Maine pay on average the third lowest annual auto insurance premiums in the U.S. The average annual auto insurance for Mainers is $1,126, while the national average is $1,561.
Maine Bureau of Insurance
Tel 800-300-5000, toll-free in state
Maine Bureau of Highway Safety
Approved 55+ Driver Accident Prevention Courses