Whereas most U.S. states have minimum liability auto insurance requirements mandating that motorists carry two types of coverage, bodily injury and property damage, Kansas requires its driving residents to carry four types of auto insurance coverage. In the Sunflower State, it is mandatory for Kansans to purchase bodily injury liability, property damage liability, personal injury protection (PIP) and uninsured/underinsured motorist protection.
Kansas’s mandatory auto insurance liability minimums
According to state auto insurance laws, it is illegal for any resident driving Kansas roads to carry less than the minimum required liability auto insurance. If you are a Kansan, your auto insurance policy must meet the following minimum coverages:
- $25,000 – bodily injury (BI), per person
- $50,000 – bodily injury (BI), multiple victims, per accident
- $10,000 – property damage (PD)
Personal injury protection (PIP)
- $4,500 medical costs, loss of wages, per person
Uninsured motorist (UM)/underinsured motorist (UIM)
- $25,000 BI, per person
- $50,000 BI, multiple victims, per accident
BI liability insurance coverage protects you if you have caused an accident and a person or persons in the other vehicle were injured. BI covers the other person’s expenses. Discuss with your Kansas auto insurance agent whether the minimum amount required by the state is going to be enough coverage to provide adequate protection.
If you cause an accident and are at fault, PD insurance pays the costs of any property damage you may have caused, up to the limits of your policy. Again, discuss your needs with your Kansas auto insurance company or agency. You may wish to buy higher limits of both BI and PD.
PIP, otherwise known as Kansas no-fault insurance, protects motorists in Kansas by providing coverage for medical costs, loss of wages loss, death benefits and some other costs, regardless of who is determined to have caused the accident.
If you are in an accident, UM/UIM coverage protects you and those riding with you, by paying medical costs and loss of wages, in the event that the person causing the accident is uninsured, underinsured or leaves the scene of the crash.
Note: In Kansas, UM/UIM also covers the policyholder and members of their household while walking or riding a bicycle.
Beware of fraudulent auto insurance policies
Phony insurance companies and phony agents are conducting scams in Kansas under the guise of being legitimate. Because of the degree of harm being done, and the costs that are being passed on to the consumer, the state has instigated a program to fight the upsurge in this crime. Developed by the Kansas Insurance Department to inform and educate consumers about a wave of insurance scams that show no signs of abating, the program is called “STOP. CALL. CONFIRM,” which is what Kansas is asking consumers to do. The program urges anyone suspecting an insurance crime to please call the consumer line at 800-432-2484.
Kansas’ Insurance Department reports that phony agents will appear to very helpful as they speak with you and hand out what appears to be a very polished marketing brochure. The department warns that the misleading brochure will appear to be using an insurance company name very similar to a name that you are most likely to be very familiar with. But it will be slightly off.
In trying to combat this crime, the state asks that if any activity relating to the sale of an auto insurance policy feels wrong, please call the consumer line. It is much better to make an error up front by being overly cautious, than it would be to find out a costly mistake has been made later by purchasing a fake insurance policy.
The state also encourages consumers not to buy any insurance policies over the phone. Confirm the identity of any company or agent you are working with the consumer line.
Consumers can go to the Kansas Insurance Department’s website and download the brochure “Fight Fake Insurance,” to find out more about this program.
Average annual cost of Kansas auto insurance
The average annual premium for Kansas auto insurance in 2011 is $1,461, which is lower than the national average is $1,561.
State of Kansas, Insurance Department
Tel 800-282-9134, toll-free in state
STOP. CALL. CONFIRM, the Kansas Department of Insurance’s consumer program to eliminate the sale of fake insurance policies. Call 800-432-2484 to report any suspicious activity relating to the sale of an auto insurance product and to confirm that an insurance agent or insurance company is indeed legitimate and licensed by the state of Kansas.